Euro 2024: Nico, Yamal named in Spain’s provisional 29-man shortlist

Euro 2024: Nico, Yamal named in Spain’s provisional 29-man shortlist

Athletic Club forward Nico Williams and Barcelona teenager Lamine Yamal have both been named to Spain’s 29-man provisional squad for the upcoming European Championship.

Williams, born in Spain to Ghanaian parents, will be hoping to represent Spain in his second tournament after being a part of the team at the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar, while Yamal, who was also born to African parents, will be looking to head to his first senior tournament with the Spanish national team.

The squad, which was released on Monday by La Roja head coach Luis de la Fuente, sees the two youngsters joined by other established stars like Alvaro Morata, Dani Carvajal, Nacho Fernandez, Rodri, and Aymeric Laporte.

Williams, 21, and 16-year-old Yamal are not the only youngsters named in the provisional squad, as 17-year-old Pau Cubarsi and the 21-year-old duo of Fermin Lopez and Pedri, all from Barcelona, are also on the team.

The list is expected to be cut down to 26 players, with Spain, the European champions in 2012, looking to win their first national team trophy in 12 years.

La Roja, semi-finalists in the last edition of the EUROs, are drawn into Group B, dubbed the ‘Group of Death’ alongside Croatia, Albania, and defending champions Italy.

They will kick off their tournament against Croatia on June 15, before taking on the Azzurri five days later, with their final group game coming up against Albania on June 24.




Goalkeepers: Unai Simon (Athletic Bilbao), David Raya (Arsenal), Alex Remiro (Real Sociedad)

Defenders: Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Pau Cubarsi (Barcelona), Marc Cucurella (Chelsea), Alex Grimaldo (Bayer Leverkusen), Aymeric Laporte (Al Nassr), Robin Le Normand (Real Sociedad), Jesus Navas (Sevilla), Nacho (Real Madrid), Dani Vivian (Athletic Bilbao)

Midfielders: Alex Baena (Villarreal), Alex Garcia (Girona), Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid), Mikel Merino (Real Sociedad), Pedri (Barcelona), Rodri (Manchester City), Fabian Ruiz (PSG), Martin Zubimendi (Real Sociedad), Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid)

Forwards: Joselu (Real Madrid on loan from Espanyol), Alvaro Morata (Atletico Madrid), Ayoze Perez (Real Betis), Dani Olmo (RB Leipzig), Mikel Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad), Ferran Torres (Barcelona), Nico Williams (Athletic Bilbao), Lamine Yamal (Barcelona)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories