2026 World Cup Qualifiers: Gernot Rohr names 25-man Benin squad for Nigeria, Rwanda clash


Benin manager Gernot Rohr has named a 25-player squad for the 2026 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers against Nigeria and Rwanda.

The squad includes star players such as Steve Mounie, Tosin Aiyegun, Junior Olaitan and Youssouf Assogba while Rohr has given first time call ups to Karim Rahman, Romaric Amoussou and Samson Akinyoola.

The Ceetahs will play Rwanda at the Stade Felix Houphouet Boigny in Abidjan on June 6 before tackling neighbours Nigeria four days later at the same venue.

Benin are at the bottom of the Group C with one point after two games.

Rohr, who was previously manager of the Super Eagles between 2016 and 2021, was appointed as Benin coach in February 2023 and has guided them to just one win in 10 games, drawing five.

Full Benin squad list

Goalkeepers: Saturnin Allagbe (Dijon FCO, France), Marcel Dandjinou (JDR Stars FC, South Africa), Karim Rahman (Dadje FC, Benin).

Defenders: Cedric Hountondji (Angers, France), David Kiki (FCV Farul Constanța, Romania), Rodrigue Fassinou (Loto-Popo FC, Benin), Rachid Moumini (Ayema FC, Benin), Yohan Roche (Quevilly – Rouen Métropole, France), Rabiou Sankamao (ASPAC Cotonou FC, Benin), Mohammed Tijani (Yverdon-Sport FC, Switzerland), Olivier Verdon (PFC Ludogorets Razgrad, Bulgaria).

Midfielders: Sessi D’Almeida (Pau FC, France), Dokou Dodo (Smouha SC, Egypt), Prince Ricardo Dossou (ASVO Benin, Benin), Hassane Imourane (Modern Future FC, Egypt), Mariano Ahouangbo (AS Soliman, Tunisia), Matteo Ahlinvi (Arcachon, France), Junior Olaitan (Troyes, France).

Attackers: Steve Mounie (Brest, France), Andreas Hountondji (Rodez, France), Jodel Dossou (Sochaux, France), David Tchetchao (Chicago Fire FC II, USA), Tosin Aiyegun (FC Lorient, France), Samson Akinyoola (Zamalek, Egypt), Romaric Amoussou (Ismaily SC, Egypt).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories