Euro 2024: De Jong, Depay make final Netherlands squad despite injuries


Frenkie de Jong and Memphis Depay have been included in the Netherlands’ final 26-man squad for the upcoming Euro 2024 championship despite nursing injuries.

Both have been struggling with injuries of late but manager Ronald Koeman believes they will be fit before the tournament commences.

Players who were dropped from the provisional list include uncapped left-back Ian Maatsen, Quinten Timber, goalkeeper Nick Olij and injured Atalanta captain Marten de Roon.

However, Liverpool’s Ryan Gravenberch, Bayer Leverkusen’s Jeremie Frimpong and Burnley loanee Wout Weghorst made the final list.

Koeman will be seeking to win a first international title with the Netherlands since the Euro 1988 tournament which he played in.

Netherlands Euro 2024 final squad list

Goalkeepers: Justin Bijlow (Feyenoord), Mark Flekken (Brentford, England), Bart Verbruggen (Brighton)

Defenders: Nathan Ake (Manchester City, England), Daley Blind (Girona FC, Spain), Stefan de Vrij (Inter Milan, Italy), Lutsharel Geertruida (Feyenoord), Denzel Dumfries (Inter Milan, Italy), Matthijs de Ligt (Bayern Munich, Germany), Jeremy Frimpong (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany), Micky van de Ven (Tottenham Hotspur, England), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool, England)

Midfielders: Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona), Ryan Gravenberch (Liverpool), Teun Koopmeiners (Atalanta), Tijjani Reijnders (AC Milan), Jerdy Schouten (PSV Eindhoven), Xavi Simons (RB Leipzig), Joey Veerman (PSV Eindhoven), Georginio Wijnaldum (Al Ettifaq)

Forwards: Steven Bergwijn (Ajax), Brian Brobbey (Ajax), Memphis Depay (AtlΓ©tico Madrid), Cody Gakpo (Liverpool), Donyell Malen (Borussia Dortmund), Wout Weghorst (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories