UCL Draws: Arsenal get Bayern; Man city, Real Madrid to rekindle rivalry in quarter-finals

UCL Draws: Arsenal get Bayern; Man city, Real Madrid to rekindle rivalry in quarter-finals

The quarter-finals draw of this season’s UEFA Champions League took place in Nyon, Switzerland, on Friday, and fans are guaranteed mouth-watering clashes across the board.

Defending champions Manchester City will face 14-time European champions Real Madrid for a third consecutive year in the Champions League. The two sides will be battling each other at this stage of the competition for the first time ever, having most recently met in the semi-final last season.

A visit to North London is on the cards for Harry Kane, as Premier League leaders Arsenal have been drawn against German champions Bayern Munich, with the first leg slated for the Emirates Stadium.

However, this will be the first meeting between them in the last eight, with Bayern cruising to a 10-2 aggregate win over the Gunners in their last meeting in the competition in the 2016-17 season.

The other games in the draw will see a heavyweight clash between Paris Saint-Germain and Barcelona, with the first leg set to take place in France at the Parc des Princes.

This will be the fourth quarter-final encounter between the two sides, with the last meeting in this round ending in a 5-1 aggregate win for the Catalans.

2016 finalist Atletico Madrid are up against 1997 winners Borussia Dortmund in the first leg at the Metropolitano Stadium in Madrid. Although the two sides have met four times in the Champions League, this will be their first ever meeting in the knockout rounds.

The first legs of the quarter-final draws will take place on April 9 and 10, while the return legs will be played on April 16 and 17.

The semi-final draws were also carried out, and the winner of the tie between Arsenal and Bayern will face the winner of the match between City and Real Madrid.

Likewise, the winners of the PSG/Barca and Atletico/Dortmund ties will face off in the other game in the semifinals.

The semi-finals will be held on April 30 and May 1, with the second legs slated to be held a week later on May 7-8, with this season’s final scheduled for Saturday, June 1, at Wembley Stadium in London.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories