U17 AFCON: Diouf leads Senegal stars in CAF Team of the Tournament

U17 AFCON: Diouf leads Senegal stars in CAF Team of the Tournament

Senegal players Serigne Diouf, Amara Diouf, Serigne Diouf and Abdou Aziz Fall have been named in CAF’s Team of the Tournament for the Africa U-17 Cup of Nations.

Yahaya Lawali is the only Nigeria player in the 11-man selection after his solid defensive performances for the Golden Eaglets that earned him two Man-of-the-Match awards while Burkina Faso defender Lacina Traore got the nod for the left-back spot.

Morocco captain Hamid Eid partners Senegal’s Diouf at the centre of the defence as a result of his efforts that helped the young Atlas Lions keep four clean sheets.

Senegal’s Fall anchors the midfield alongside Mali’s Sekou Kone and Burkina Faso’s Rachid Ouedraogo who joined to strengthen the middle of the park.

In the attack, Burkina Faso striker Souleymane Alio who was named the Best Player of the Tournament, is in the company of the tournament’s top scorer Amara Diouf and Mali’s talisman Mamadou Doumbia.

Team of the Tournament (4-3-3)

Goalkeeper: Serigne Diouf (Senegal).

Defenders: Serigne Diouf (Senegal), Hami Eid (Morocco), Lacine Traore (Burkina Faso) and Yahaya Lawali (Nigeria).

Midfielders: Abdou Aziz Fall (Senegal), Sekou Kone (Mali) and Rachid Ouedraogo (Burkina Faso).

Forwards: Amara Diouf (Senegal), Mamadou Doumbia (Mali) and Souleymane Alio (Burkina Faso).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories