NPFL Playoffs: Enyimba clinch record-extending ninth title

NPFL Playoffs: Enyimba clinch record-extending ninth title

Enyimba were crowned Nigeria Premier Football League (NPFL) champions for the ninth time after recording a 1-1 draw with Rivers United in the final round of the playoffs at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena on Sunday.

Both sides came into the game level on points but the People’s Elephant had with the advantage via goal difference.

They took the lead in the 39th minute through Ekene Awazie before Rivers United levelled things up two minutes into the second half courtesy of Nwangwa Nyima.

The league triumph was a first in the career of coach and former Super Eagles player Finidi George. Enyimba also took home the grand prize money of ₦100 million and have booked a spot in the CAF Champions League for next season.

Remo Stars finished in second place also on nine points after their 1-0 win over Bendel Insurance earlier in the day. Qudus Akanni’s 36th minute strike made the difference to earn the Ikenne side the second Champions League spot for next season, the first time they have made it to the African premier club competition.

Rivers United’s draw settled them for third place on the log and a spot in the CAF Confederation Cup next term.

The earliest game of the day saw Sunshine Stars thump Lobi Stars 3-1. The Akure outfit took a 2-0 first half lead through goals from Stephen Chukwude and Michael Olulasi before Elijah Ani halved the deficit for the men from Makurdi in the 69th minute.

Vincent Temitope however added a third for Sunshine eight minutes from time to end the playoffs in fourth place, two points clear of fifth place Insurance while Lobi finished bottom with just two points.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories