Euro 2024: Rashford fails to make England provisional squad


Marcus Rashford will not feature at the Euro 2024 championship in Germany this summer after he was left out of the provisional England squad.

The Manchester United forward has not been in top form this season, netting just seven goals and providing two assists in 42 competitive appearances.

The 26-year-old will miss out on the tournament along with the likes of former Liverpool midfielder Jordan Henderson and Chelsea winger Raheem Sterling.

Some of the notable players that made the list include Manchester United midfielder Kobbie Mainoo, who made his England debut against the Brazil in March, Brentford striker Ivan Toney, Chelsea defender Levi Colwill, West Ham forward Jarrod Bowen, Manchester City winger Jack Grealish and Liverpool midfielder Curtis Jones.

There trio of Jarell Quansah, Jarrad Branthwaite and Adam Wharton have been called up for the very first time.

Manager Gareth Southgate has until June 7 to confirm his final squad which will be trimmed down to 26 players.

The Three Lions will play warm up friendlies against Bosnia-Herzegovina and Iceland on June 3 and 7 before kicking off their Euro 2024 campaign against Serbia in Group C on June 16.

Full England Euro 2024 provisional squad list

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), James Trafford (Burnley).

Defenders: Jarrad Branthwaite (Everton), Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Jarell Quansah (Liverpool), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Curtis Jones (Liverpool), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace).

Forwards: Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), James Maddison (Tottenham), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories