AFCON 2025 Qualifiers: Super Eagles to battle Benin, Libya & Rwanda in Group D

The draws for the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers were held on Thursday in Johannesburg, South Africa, as all 48 teams got to know their opponents.

Nigeria’s Super Eagles, finalists at the 2023 AFCON, have been drawn in Group D with the Mediterranean Knights Libya as well as Rwanda and Benin, two teams that are also in their group in the African qualifiers for the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

The Super Eagles, who are currently without a manager, were beaten 2-1 by the Cheetahs of Benin, led by former Nigeria head coach Gernot Rohr, in matchday four of the African qualifiers for the World Cup.

Also in Group D of the 2025 AFCON qualifiers are the Amavubi of Rwanda, Nigeria’s next opponent in Group C of the World Cup qualifiers, where they are currently fifth in the standings.

Meanwhile, in the other groups in Thursday’s draws held at SuperSport studios, reigning champions Cote d’Ivoire are in Group G alongside Zambia, Sierra Leone, and Chad.

Record winners Egypt will battle Cape Verde, Mauritania, and Botswana in Group C; Ghana is in Group F with Angola, Sudan, and Niger.

Five-time winners Cameroon is in Group J along with Namibia, Kenya, and Zimbabwe; Senegal will lock horns with Burkina Faso, Malawi, and Burundi.

In Group A, Tunisia, Madagascar, Comoros, and Gambia will battle for the two available tickets. Host Morocco is in Group B with Gabon, the Central African Republic, and Lesotho.

2019 winners Algeria are in Group E alongside Equatorial Guinea, Togo, and Liberia; in Group H, semi-finalists at the 2023 AFCON, DR Congo, will battle Guinea, Tanzania, and Ethiopia; the Eagles of Mali will face off against Mozambique, Guinea Bissau, and Eswatini in Group I; while South Africa’s Bafana Bafana, a bronze medalist from Ivory Coast, is in Group K with Uganda, Congo, and South Sudan.

The six-match qualifying series has been spread over the FIFA windows this year in September, October, and November, with two matches in each seven-day window.

Two teams from each of the 12 groups will qualify for the 35th edition of the AFCON, slated to be held in Morocco from December 21, 2025, to January 18, 2026.




Group A: Tunisia, Madagascar, Comoros, Gambia
Group B: Morocco, Gabon,Central Africa Republic, Lesotho
Group C: Egypt, Cape Verde, Mauritania, Botswana
Group D: Nigeria, Benin Libya, Rwanda
Group E: Algeria, Equatorial Guinea, Togo, Liberia
Group F: Ghana, Angola, Sudan, Niger
Group G: Cote d’Ivoire, Zambia, Sierra Leone, Chad
Group H: DR Congo, Guinea, Tanzania, Ethiopia
Group I: Mali, Mozambique, Guinea Bissau, Eswatini
Group J: Cameroon, Namibia, Kenya, Zimbabwe
Group K: South Africa, Uganda, Congo, South Sudan
Group L: Senegal, Burkina Faso, Malawi, Burundi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories