AFCON 2023 Qualifiers: Nigeria release 23-man squad list for Sierra Leone clash

AFCON 2023 Qualifiers: Nigeria release 23-man squad list for Sierra Leone clash

Ahead of the matchday 5 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers between Nigeria and Sierra Leone in Monrovia later this month, Super Eagles head coach Jose Peseiro has released a star-studded 23-man squad list.

The Portuguese tactician invited familiar faces like captain Ahmed Musa, vice captain William Troost-Ekong, Everton’s player of the season Alex Iwobi, and the red-hot Victor Osimhen, who has been in scintillating form for Napoli this season, where he scored 31 goals in all competitions and became the first African to win the Serie A Golden Boot.

Peseiro, who has also been keen on adding home-based players to his squad after being a frequent spectator in the ongoing Super Six championship, has called up goalkeepers Victor Sochima and Olorunleke Ojo of Rivers United and Eyimba, respectively, as well as Rivers United defender Chidiebube Duru and Bendel Insurance midfielder Divine Nwachukwu.

Some of the other invited players include Kenneth Omeruo, Zaidu Sanusi, Calvin Bassey, Bright Osayi-Samuel, Wilfred Ndidi, Frank Onyeka, Samuel Chukwueze, Taiwo Awoniyi, and Kelechi Iheanacho.

The Super Eagles are top of Group A with nine points after four matches and were 2-1 winners over the Leone Stars in the reverse fixture.

The match between Nigeria and Sierra Leone will be played at the Samuel Kanyon Doe Stadium in Monrovia, Liberia, on Sunday, June 18, as the home side does not have any stadium in their country approved for international matches.



Goalkeepers: Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel); Victor Sochima (Rivers United); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Calvin Bassey (Ajax FC, The Netherlands); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany); Chidiebube Duru (Rivers United); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey)

Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Divine Nwachukwu (Bendel Insurance); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

Forwards: Moses Simon (Nantes FC, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories