14 players in Super Falcons camp as Nnadozie, Echegini & 9 others arrive Abuja

Women’s World Cup: FIFPRO steps in to assist Super Falcons over bonus dispute

Africa’s best goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie, Juventus’ midfielder Jennifer Echegini and nine other players have touched down the Super Falcons base in Abuja on Tuesday ahead of their double-header against South Africa.

The Randy Waldrum-led side will lock horns against the Banyana Banyana across two legs for a place in this summer’s Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

Other arrivals include veteran defender Osinachi Ohale, midfield maestro Toni Payne, Abiodun Deborah, Christy Ucheibe, Gift Monday, Shukurat Oladipo, Chidinma Okeke, and Linda Jiwuaku.

The arrival of these eleven players takes the total number of players in the camp to 14, after the trio of Rasheedat Ajibade, veteran goalkeeper Tochukwu Oluehi, and Jumoke Alani, who was called up to replace the injured Ashleigh Plumptre, all touched down on Monday, April 1.

Eight other players including US-based forward Asisat Oshoala, FC Rosengard midfielder Halimatu Ayinde and China-based Esther Okoronkwo are still expected to arrive the Falcons campt to complete the 22-player invited squad.

The Super Falcons, who are on the hunt for a ticket to the Games for the first time since 2008, will take on the Banyana Banyana in the first leg on Friday, April 5, at the MKO Abiola Stadium in Abuja before heading to South Africa for the second leg scheduled for Tuesday, April 9, with the winners set for a place in the Paris 2024 Olympics slated to begin in July.





Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia); Linda Jiwuaku (Bayelsa Queens).

Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Pachucha Club de Futbol, Mexico); **Ashleigh Plumptre (Ittihad Ladies, Saudi Arabia)**; Shukurat Oladipo (FC Robo Queens); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Nicole Payne (Portland Thorns FC, USA); Chidinma Okeke (Mynavi Sendai Ladies, Japan).

Midfielders: Deborah Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, USA); Halimatu Ayinde (FC Rosengard, Sweden); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Jennifer Echegini (Juventus Ladies, Italy); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain).

Forwards: Omorinsola Babajide (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); Esther Okoronkwo (Changchun FC, China); Ifeoma Onumonu (SLC Utah, USA); Asisat Oshoala (Bay FC, USA); Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville, USA); Gift Monday (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); Chiwendu Ihezuo (Pachucha Club de Futbol, Mexico).

**Ashleigh Plumptre replaced by Jumoke Alani**

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories